Southern Indiana Supply

Iowa Ag News Headlines
Reynolds Requests Disaster Declaration in Seven Counties
Iowa Ag Connection - 08/11/2017

Gov. Kim Reynolds sent a letter to President Donald Trump Thursday requesting a presidential disaster declaration for seven Iowa counties significantly damaged by severe storms and flooding July 19-23, 2017.

Counties included in this request are: Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette and Mitchell.

The governor requested funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Public Assistance Program. The money would be used to rebuild damaged infrastructure including roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities or to cover costs of emergency work during and debris removal after the storms.

Following a joint federal, state and local preliminary damage assessment of the seven counties, it was estimated the severe weather caused nearly $7 million in damages that could be eligivle under the Public Assistance Program.

Gov. Reynolds also requested funding at conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.

Send this article to a friend

Other Iowa Headlines
Easy Way Cattle Care
Kelly Manufacturing
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.