Social Links Search




Iowa Farm Bureau Awards $270K in Scholarships

Iowa Farm Bureau Awards $270K in Scholarships

By Andi Anderson

The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) recently announced the recipients of its annual scholarship program, providing nearly $270,000 in financial support to Iowa students pursuing higher education in agriculture-related fields. These scholarships aim to foster the development of future leaders in agriculture and strengthen Iowa's rural communities.

First-time scholarship winners from various towns across Iowa were recognized for their academic achievements and commitment to rural Iowa. Among the recipients are Kierra Dodd from Ackley, Trell Amoss from Albia, and Claire Pellett from Atlantic, who will attend prestigious institutions such as Iowa State University and Oklahoma State University.

Renewed scholarships totaling 78 were also awarded to deserving students, highlighting the IFBF's commitment to supporting students throughout their academic journey. These scholarships, renewable for up to four years or $10,000, provide vital assistance to students pursuing degrees at accredited higher education institutions, including community colleges and technical schools.

Eligibility for these scholarships is based on several criteria, including Farm Bureau membership, academic excellence, financial need, and involvement in community activities. Applicants are also required to submit essays outlining their dedication to rural Iowa and its agricultural heritage.

According to Ronnette Vondrak, IFBF Community Resources Manager, investing in youth and education is a cornerstone of Iowa Farm Bureau's mission. She emphasizes the importance of empowering young individuals to contribute to the resilience and innovation of the agricultural industry, which plays a vital role in Iowa's economy and rural communities.

In addition to the annual scholarship program, IFBF also recognizes outstanding students through special awards. Cody Messer of New London received the Daniel Johnson Memorial Scholarship, while Nicoa McClure of Eldon was awarded the Edward W. and Isabella M. Klodt Scholarship. Brooke Hansel of Guttenberg and Kayleese Thoma of Dubuque were named recipients of the Robert H. Rewoldt Scholarship, highlighting their exceptional academic achievements and commitment to their communities.

These scholarships not only provide financial assistance but also serve as a testament to the IFBF's dedication to fostering the next generation of agricultural leaders. By investing in the education of Iowa's youth, IFBF continues to play a vital role in ensuring the future success and sustainability of agriculture in the state.

Photo Credit: Iowa Farm Bureau

Iowa Department of Agriculture Invests in Urban Water Quality Projects Iowa Department of Agriculture Invests in Urban Water Quality Projects
Iowa Lt. Governor Wins NLGA Innovators Award Iowa Lt. Governor Wins NLGA Innovators Award

Categories: Iowa, Education, Government & Policy

Subscribe to newsletters

Crop News

Rural Lifestyle News

Livestock News

General News

Government & Policy News

National News

Back To Top